Migos- Culture Album Review

The Migos give me exactly what I expected with an up-tempo, bass heavy album. The lyrics involve a lot of violence, drugs, money, and… other stuff.

migos-sxsw-2015-09-billboard-650
Image Credit: Billboard.

The Migos are not a group that I would typically listen to. They don’t put much emphasis on lyrics and their trap beats aren’t what I enjoy. But I did go into this album with an open mind and they gave me what I expected. This album is by no means bad. But it isn’t good either. It is a quality album for their second effort.

I knew that I would get an energetic album with a ton of ad-libs. Quavo, Offset, and Takeoff all are the same type of rappers. In fact, when they rap, they feed off each other. They almost sound like one rapper with three different voices. It’s hard not to like these guys. I mean, c’mon. Cool nicknames, exciting ad-libs, VERSACE. But their music, I’m just not that into it. It isn’t that they aren’t good, it’s just not my type of music.

This album isn’t as crazy as I thought it would be. There were song slower songs with a moodier beat. But the Migos will never fail to give you energetic music. A lot of the more upbeat songs were my favorites, so I’ll give you short summaries track by track:

1. Culture (feat. DJ Khaled) 

When this song came on, I was like “dang I might like this album.” The beat was solid. The energy was there. There was a completely unnecessary feature from DJ, but we will ignore that. Overall, this is a good track. I was actually really excited for the rest of the album when listening to this.

2. T-Shirt

Kind of paying homage to the late Shawty Lo. This song is really annoying. The two syllable lines get super annoying. The beat isn’t that great. I almost had to skip the song.

3. Call Casting

The organ in the background is pretty good. The lyrics are not that exciting but the hook is good. Overall not a bad track.

4. Bad and Boujee (feat. Lil Uzi Vert)

The famous “rain drop, drop top” song. Again, like most of these songs, the beat is pretty good. Kind of a low key beat. The hook is really catchy and it has became one of the most popular songs of theirs. But the lyrics are pretty, like, awful. I don’t know who Lil Uzi is but I don’t know what he was thinking writing this, but good God.

5. Get Right Witcha

This song is one of my least favorite on the album. There’s just nothing that really stands out to me.

6. Slippery (feat. Gucci Mane)

My least favorite song on the album. This song isn’t good by any means. And I know what they’re talking about. But it still isn’t good. And Gucci Mane is just, well he’s Gucci.

7. Big On Big

I don’t really get this song but it wasn’t bad. It was kind of annoying but that will happen with Migos. A lot of their songs get repetitive and their ad-libs after every verse will get on your nerves.

8. What the Price

One of my favorite songs on the album.  The intro features a guitar and it is different from what I would expect from the Migos. They are asking what is the price for all these things. The verses are actually really good. Talking about how they will find better ways to do things on their own. They are smart enough and make enough money to figure things out by their selves.

9. Brown Paper Bag

Start of the downfall of the album. Not really anything good on this track. I don’t recommend listening to the rest of the album.

10. Deadz (feat. 2 Chainz)

Okay, this might be my least favorite song. It is pretty close with slippery. They literally say the same things over and over almost the whole song. The verses are bad. I really think Migos just got tired and didn’t put much into the rest of the album.

11. All …

I shouldn’t even go into this song. This song blends in with the latter half of the album. Very “BLEH” song with not much to get interested in.

12. Kelly Price (feat Travis Scott)

This song is actually pretty decent. Travis Scott is an interesting feature. I wouldn’t expect Scott to be on a Migos song. But Scott’s vocals are pretty good and Migos are a bit more focused than the rest of the album.

13. Out Yo Way

Sounds like them going kind of pop-rap. I didn’t enjoy this track and it was really different than what I would expect. That isn’t a bad thing, I just didn’t like the way they went about it.

Overall this album is decent. It is better than the other two albums I put on the poll. I’m glad this one was the winner because I was actually interested to see what they would give me. They didn’t disappoint, but they didn’t wow me either.

If you liked the Migos before, you will like most of this album. It gives you exactly what they have been doing since they rose to fame. If you didn’t like them, well, I would steer clear from it. I am not a huge fan, but I am interested to see what they do next. They sounded a little bit more focused and you never know, their next project might be really good.

Rating: 5/10

Leave a Reply

